Bye Elections: APC Wins Katsina Senatorial Bye Elections, Claims Victory In Bauchi


The Oasis Reporters

August 12, 2018

Alhaji Ahmed Babba-Kaita of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared the winner of the bye-election conducted in the Katsina North Senatorial District, the home district of President Muhammadu Buhari who is currently in London on a vacation.

Prof Hudu Ayuba-Abdullahi, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)’s returning officer announced the result at 4:42 am in Daura on Sunday and he said Kaita, a member of the House of Representatives scored 224,607 votes, while his elder brother who is a retired customs officer , Alhaji Kabir Babba-Kaita of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) scored 59,724 votes

Abdullahi said the total number of registered voters was 864,046. The number of accredited voters was 308,500. According to him, the total votes cast was 294,050, out of which 287,155 votes were counted as valid and 10,891 rejected.

Six political parties contested for the seat, which became vacant after the death of Senator Bukar Mustapha. Apart from the APC and PDP, the other parties that took part in the election were Democratic Alliance (DA),Green Party of Nigeria (GPN), MNM and MPN.

The APC candidate defeated the PDP candidate in all the 12 local councils that make up the district.

The APC is also claiming victory in the senatorial bye election held in Bauchi on Saturday.

While the official results have not been announced by INEC, the APC acting publicity secretary, Yekini Nabena tweeted a ‘thank you’ to the voters in the two senatorial districts, for ‘believing in APC”. The tweet came with an illustration of a clenched fist, indicating APC ‘power’.

“Two senatorial seats done, we thank the great people of Bauchi and Katsina State, for believing in the APC,” he tweeted @ynabena

In Bauchi South, the APC candidate is Lawal Yahaya Gumau. Other candidates are Isa Yuguda, former governor (GNP), Haruna Ayuba (ADC); Aminu Tukur (APP), Usman Hassan (Kowa Party), Barrister Husseini Umar (NNPP), Usman Chaledi (PDC), Ladan Salihu (PDP) and Maryam Garba Bargel (SDP).

The election was held to fill a vacancy created by the death of Senator Ali Wakili of the APC on the 17th of March.

Bye elections were also held in the Lokoja/Lokoja/Kogi/Koton Karfe Federal Constituency and in Obudu LGA of Cross River State to fill a vacancy in the State Assembly.

Greg Abolo

Blogger at The Oasis Reporters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *