The Oasis Reporters

News on time, everytime


Despite ‘Some Shortcomings’, Johnson-Sirleaf wins $5m Mo Ibrahim prize for African leadership


The Oasis Reporters

February 13, 2018


Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf

The immediate past Liberian President, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, yesterday became the first woman to win the $5 million Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership, in recognition of her efforts at rebuilding her country following two devastating civil wars.

This is coming after two consecutive occasions where no African ex leader was found worthy of the prestigious award. Many analysts would have said that former Nigerian president Goodluck Ebele Jonathan could have won it in 2016 were it not for the orchestrated smear campaign mounted against him by a virulent anti Jonathan press that convinced the world to believe in lies.
They point to his unprecedented peaceful and orderly transfer of power from a ruling party in Africa to an opposition party.

They also point to his giant economic strides that made Nigeria the largest economy in Africa and also making his country the number one investment destination in Africa.
Within a few months of his departure from office, Nigeria went into a quarter on quarter recession for over one year with spiraling inflation, and now intensive killings by alleged Fulani herdsmen militia.

Announcing the decision, Chairman of the Prize Committee, Dr. Salim Ahmed Salim, said “Ellen Johnson Sirleaf took the helm of Liberia when it was completely destroyed by civil war and led a process of reconciliation that focused on building a nation and its democratic institutions.Throughout her two terms in office, she worked tirelessly on behalf of the people of Liberia. “Such a journey cannot be without some shortcomings and, today, Liberia continues to face many challenges. Nevertheless, during her twelve years in office, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf laid the foundations on which Liberia can now build.”

Johnson-Sirleaf became President of Liberia on January 16, 2006, after winning the 2005 national elections. She served her first term 2006- 2011 and was re-elected for a second term, serving in office 2012-2017.

Greg Abolo

Blogger at The Oasis Reporters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *