The Oasis Reporters

News on time, everytime


Adamawa Guber: One More Win Pocketed By PDP, As Fintiri Is Declared Governor

The Oasis Reporters

March 29, 2019

Rt. Hon. Umaru Fintiri, Governor-elect, Adamawa State.

Rt. Hon. Umaru Fintiri of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared winner of the Adamawa State governorship election at the conclusion of collation of results of the supplementary governorship election which was conducted in 44 polling units in 14 local government areas of the state on Thursday.

Fintiri polled a total of 376,552 from the main election on March 9 and the supplementary election of March 28 to beat his closest rival, Governor Mohammed Jibrilla Bindow of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who got a total of 336,386 from both elections.

Sen Abdulaziz Nyako of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) came third with 113,237 and was followed by Chief Emmanuel Bello of the Social Democratic Party, SDP, who polled 29,792 votes. Rev Abel Behora of the Alliance for New Nigeria came next with 2,545 votes.

Making the final declaration over the election in the early hours of Friday, the returning officer, Prof Andrew Haruna, said Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri, having polled the highest votes and satisfied other requirements, “is hereby declared winner and returned elected.”

The rate at which the much maligned People’s Democratic Party, PDP is winning over All Progressives Congress, APC governorship elections to their side has underlined what former president Goodluck Jonathan said that you can win an election by propaganda, but you can’t govern with propaganda. Failure of good governance has made some APC governors lose to their PDP counterparts despite contrived rerun elections, cancellations and election postponements using underhanded Federal power.

Jerry Ishaya says that the PDP lost Gombe in Northeast but gained Adamawa and Bauchi States.

2. PDP also got Oyo in sothwest and on its way to possibly adding Osun State to the kitty.

3. PDP equally took Imo in the Southeast and kept its existing states in the region.

4. PDP kept all the south-south states except Edo

5. PDP has Sokoto in the Northwest while Kano, Kaduna and Zamfara states remain in contention at the courts.

6. Already PDP has Benue. Abuja is there for PDP. Plateau State is being contested in the court.

Greg Abolo

Blogger at The Oasis Reporters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *