The Oasis Reporters

News on time, everytime


Obaseki Hails Hon. Edekere, As He Celebrates The Former RATTAWU Deputy President At 70

The Oasis Reporters

August 31, 2021

L-R: Representative of Edo State Governor and his Chief of Staff, Hon. Osaigbovo Iyoha; Mrs. Edieya Edekere and the celebrant and former Deputy National President of Radio, Television and Theatre workers Union (RATTAWU), Hon. Osamudiamen Edekere, at the birthday thanksgiving anniversary for Hon. Edekere in Benin City, on Monday, August 30, 2021.

Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki has felicitated with former Deputy National President of Radio, Television and Theatre Workers Union (RATTAWU), Hon. Osamudiamen Edekere, hailing his contributions to the state and country.

Obaseki gave the commendation at the Platinum jubilee thanksgiving service for Hon. Osamudiamen Edekere at Diocese of Benin, Anglican Communion, St. Matthew’s Cathedral, Benin City, Edo State.

The governor, who was represented by his Chief of Staff, Hon. Osaigbovo Iyoha, described Edekere as a foremost Edo politician, commending his role in his victory in the September 19, 2020 gubernatorial poll.

Obaseki noted: “Hon Edekere is one of our foremost leaders from the Governor’s Oredo Local Government Area. He has been a formidable force in Edo politics that was why we called on him to assist us when we embarked on the struggle to get re-elected for a second term.

“We called on him when we discovered that there was trouble going into our second-term election. When we called on him, he came and supported us; he brought his wealth of experience to play in the election, and today, all is history.

“His Excellency conveys good wishes to him as he celebrates his 70th birthday today. We pray God keeps him in good health as he celebrates many more years to come.”

Edekere served as President, Bendel State Council of Radio, Television and Theatre Workers Union (RATTAWU) from 1981 to 1983 and the Deputy National President of RATTAWU (1983-1983). He was a former Chairman, Oredo Local Government Area and Chairman of Chairmen from 1997 to 1998.

Greg Abolo

Blogger at The Oasis Reporters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *