The Oasis Reporters

News on time, everytime


Screening Of Political Appointees: Committee Reviews Petitions From 18 Edo LGAs

The Oasis Reporters

July 6, 2021

Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki.

The 15-man committee set up by Governor Godwin Obaseki to screen political nominees to be appointed into his cabinet has commenced a review of all petitions received from across the 18 local government areas of the state.

Chairman of the committee, Prof. Dennis Agbonlahor, while speaking to journalists in Benin City, reassured that the committee will be fair to all nominees.

He said the committee has been divided into three groups to cover the three senatorial districts of Edo to meet up the July 15 deadline given by the governor.

According to him, “We are looking at all the petitions from the various local government areas of Edo state. We want to be sure that we are fair to all. We want to be sure that the leaders from the various local government areas have done justice to the process; there will be no dictatorial tendency.

“His Excellency, Governor Godwin Obaseki while inaugurating us stressed the need to be fair to everybody and to ensure inclusiveness in the exercise; that’s exactly what we intend to do.”

Speaking on the criteria for screening commissioners, Prof. Agbonlahor said five nominees are expected from each local government from which one will be selected.

The committee chairman further assured that a thorough job will be done to ensure proper screening of those that will be entrusted with public office.

“We will look at Special Assistants from each ward; there are three nominees for this position; a female and two males. For Senior Special Assistants, five nominations are expected from each LGA, including two females and three males, out of which four will be selected,” he added.

Governor Obaseki had on Tuesday, June 29, 2021, inaugurated the committee with a charge to screen the nominees and submit its report on or before 15th of July, 2021.

Members of the Committee include Gen. (Rtd) Airende; Abass Yakubu; Bayo Ogedengbe; Abubakar Mustapha; Hon. Akhere Ugbesia; Prof. Okogbo Felix and Engr. M.I. Ijeghede.

Others are Osayamwanbor Agbons; Matthew Iduoriyekemwen; Dr. (Mrs.) Bob Osazee; Prof Maureen Isoken Ebomoyi; Prof. Ahmed Uwubamwen; Hillary Otsu and Pastor Osagiede Joseph.

Greg Abolo

Blogger at The Oasis Reporters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *