The Oasis Reporters

News on time, everytime


Senate Confirms Seven Resident Electoral Commissioners



The Oasis Reporters

February 16, 2018.



The Senate has  confirmed seven more Resident Electoral Commissioners, REC, of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC out of the nine names sent.
The confirmation followed senators’ consideration of the report of the screening of nominees by the Senator Suleiman Nazif, APC, Bauchi North-led Senate Committee on INEC.
President Buhari last year sent nine names to the Senate for consideration and confirmation and the Senate had on Thursday, December 21, referred the president’s request to the Committee on INEC.

The names were Baba Abba Yusuf, Borno for reappointment; Segun Agbaje, Ekiti also for reappointment; Elder Monday Udoh Tom, Akwa Ibom as a new appointment; Eric Okawale, Osun, new appointment; Dr. Utamaro Abdulrahman Ajidagba, Kwara, new appointment; and Dr. Cyril Omorogbe, Edo, new appointment.

Others were Yahaya Bello, Nasarawa, new appointment; Dr. Emmanuel Alex Hart, Rivers, new appointment and Mohammed Magaji Ibrahim, Gombe, new appointment.
At the end of the day, those confirmed were Baba Abba Yusuf, Borno; Dr. Uthman Abdulrahman Ajidagba, Kwara;Mr. Segun Agbaje, Ekiti; Dr. Cyril Omorogbe, Edo; Yahaya Bello, Nasarawa; Dr. Emmanuel Alex Hart, Rivers; and Mohammed Magaji Ibrahim, Gombe.

According to the report, of the nine nominees, only eight appeared before the Committee as that of Osun did not appear for screening. It also said that the nominee from Akwa Ibom State was dropped for further legislative consultation.The Committee has 20 members and two of them did not sign the report.


Greg Abolo

Blogger at The Oasis Reporters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *