The Oasis Reporters

News on time, everytime

AnalysisBusiness & EconomyNews

Zenith Bank’s GMD, Onyeagwu Grabs Bank CEO Of The Year Award, With Bank’s Brand As Most Valuable

The Oasis Reporters

December 3, 2020

Some intrinsic qualities in the talents of the staff of Zenith Bank Plc must have played a vital role in propelling the leading new generation Bank to soar to the heights it has attained. For year end 2019, it crossed above 200bn naira in Profit After Tax.

Besides other awards, it was also announced that Zenith Bank Plc has emerged as Bank of the Year in Nigeria in The Banker’s Bank of the Year Awards 2020.

In saying that Zenith Bank builds on “dynamic competencies and capabilities that are driving our business for continued superior performance” is like restating the obvious, and Bank CEO, Mr. Ebenezer Onyeagwu attributes it all “to the pioneering and foundational role”, bank Group Chairman, Jim Ovia laid, to which he also expresses his gratitude to.

This role played significantly in building the structures and laying the foundation for an enduring and very successful institution.

The Bank’s outstanding Board also provides deep insights and outstanding leadership as well as the Bank’s teeming customers support which has enabled the Bank to prove to the market what it can deliver.

All these provided the impetus for the nomination of GMD/CEO Zenith Bank Plc, Mr. Ebenezer Onyeagwu, recently to receive his award for the Bank CEO of the Year category, at the Business Day 8th Annual Banks & Other Financial Institution (BAFI) Awards 2020 which took place earlier.

This is coming on the heels of the awards as the Most Valuable Banking Brand in Nigeria and the Number One Bank in Nigeria by Tier-1 Capital by The Banker won earlier in the year.

The award, which was announced, December 2, 2020 by The Banker Magazine, Financial Times Group, Unitedj Kingdom during the virtual awards ceremony, an award based on individual banks’ ability to deliver returns, gain strategic advantage and serve their markets.

Regarded as the industry standard for banking excellence, The Banker’s Bank of the Year awards is contested by the world’s leading financial institutions, with winners chosen across Africa, Asia-Pacific, Central & Eastern Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, North America and Western Europe.

Greg Abolo

Blogger at The Oasis Reporters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *