The Oasis Reporters

News on time, everytime


Obaseki, PDP Governor, Fintiri Join APC Govs To Attend Oyebanji’s Inauguration As Ekiti Governor

The Oasis Reporters

October 17, 2022







L-R: Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu; his Ondo State counterpart, Arakunrin Rotimi Akeredolu; Osun State Deputy Governor, Benedict Alabi; Ogun State Governor, Dapo Abiodun, and his Edo State counterpart, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, during the inauguration of Ekiti State Governor, in Ado-Ekiti, on Sunday, October 16th, 2022.



Edo State Governor,  Godwin Obaseki, at the weekend, joined his PDP
colleague Ahmadu Fintiri of Adamawa State and other APC ruling party colleagues, Governors Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State; Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State, and Arakunrin Rotimi Akeredolu from Ondo State, for the inauguration of the new Governor of Ekiti State, Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji.

Other governors at the ceremony include Alhaji Mohammed Baduru Abubakar of Jigawa State and Simon Lalong of Plateau State, who heads Tinubu’s Campaign Council for the APC.

Others present at the occasion are Presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu and former Governor of Ekiti State who governed as the PDP helmsman, Ayo Fayose, among others.

Obaseki exchanged pleasantries with the out-gone Governor of Ekiti State, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, and other governors who were at the inauguration ceremony.

The former Head of Service (HOS) of Ekiti State and a Commissioner in the National Population Commission, Deji Ajayi welcomed dignitaries to the inauguration.

He noted that Ekiti State is a land that has produced great men and women across all spheres of human endeavour.

“This is the first time in the history of Ekiti State that a party will win an election back-to-back. Today, we are witnessing the swearing in of a new governor that will pilot the affairs of the State for the next four years.”

Former governor of Ekiti State Dr. Kayode Fayemi handed over the pen of authority to the new Governor, Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji before the Chief Judge of the State, Ayodeji Daramola administered the oath of office.

Since the state was created, no governor has ever ruled the state for two consecutive tenures. It must be four years or less. But a former governor can make a dramatic comeback, four years after, like it happened to Ayo Fayose and Kayode Fayemi.

Segun Oni has tried several times to do his second tenure but without luck so far.

One thing though, is that the state can boast of highly endowed intellectual giants, but when it comes to elevated governance or street credibility to grow Ekiti state, their leaders are usually Lilliputians. Ekiti state is the poorest state in the entire south west.

Not a sweet commentary to make about a state well endowed with high natural and human resources.

Greg Abolo

Blogger at The Oasis Reporters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *