The Oasis Reporters

News on time, everytime


Oyo State Jubilates As Debo Ogundoyin Is Declared Ibarapa East Election Winner


The Oasis Reporters

June 3, 2018

Debo Ogundoyin, winner of the Ibarapa East bye election into the Oyo State House of Assembly conducted Saturday, June 2, 2018.

Shouts of “PDP!!! POWER!!! Ogbenutan PDP ti take over… Power ni jhooooooo” in the local slang of an admixture of spoken English and the native Yoruba language of the South West people of Nigeria, rent the air in jubilation as the OYSIEC, the Oyo State arm of Nigeria’s Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC officially declared Debo Ogundoyin of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP candidate as the winner of the Ibarapa east Bye-election to replace the late Speaker of the House of Assembly.
The former speaker had slumped and died suddenly in what observers disclosed could be a heart related  condition.

Oyo State is governed by Abiola Ajimobi of the All Progressive Congress, Nigeria’s ruling party at the center.


The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP,  conducted a primary election to fill the vacant seat following the demise of the late Speaker, Rt. Hon. Michael Adeyemo who represented the state constituency.
The 31 year old Debo Ogundoyin is the son of the late philanthropist and industrialist, Chief Adeseun Ogundoyin.

He was declared winner of the primary election having scored the highest number of votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC collation officer for the Ibarapa East State Constituency bye election into the House of Assembly seat, Dr. Deji Omole from the University of Ibadan on Saturday declared the PDP candidate, Mr Debo Ogundoyin as the winner of the election

Ogundoyin polled 6,277 votes to defeat his closest rival, Olukunle Adeyemo of the APC with 4,619 votes.
Other candidates, include Accord Party candidate, Mr Adepoju who got 2,859 votes, MPN 9 votes, HDP 14, FDP 33 and NPC 60.

This is the Ibarapa East Local Govt. Ward 5 results:

PDP: 1079
APC: 251
Accord: 166.

If the result and analysis of voting figures is taken into account, this may signal a decline for the ruling APC party  in favour of the PDP.

The late Philanthropist’s son, Ogundoyin is expected to receive his Certificate of Return from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday, thus succeeding the late Speaker, Rt. Hon Michael Adeyemo.

 INEC had recruited 610 Officials for the Ibarapa East bye-election

Governor Ajimobi will be rounding up his final tenure in May 2018. He’s no longer eligible to run having done two terms in office.
Will he decide to muscle his way back to the Senate having been there before?
Analysts are unable to conclude right away, but late Bashorun Moshood Abiola the flamboyant business turned June 12 Presidential election winner in 1993 which was annulled by the military government of General Babangida, once mocked Nigeria’s politicians as idle “they have nothing else to do” besides politicking.
Bashorun Abiola was poisoned by the military under General Babangida’s successor, General Abdulsalami.

Greg Abolo

Blogger at The Oasis Reporters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *